Research, Innovation and Enterprise Council (RIEC)


Click here to understand the rationale for the RIEC Logo.

The NRF supports the Research Innovation and Enterprise Council (RIEC).

The RIEC is chaired by the Prime Minister of Singapore, who appoints members to two-year terms. The RIEC comprises Cabinet Ministers and distinguished local and foreign members from the business, science and technology communities.

Set up in 2006, the RIEC provides strategic direction for national R&D. It has two main goals:
  • Advise the Singapore Cabinet on national research and innovation policies and strategies to drive the transformation of Singapore into a knowledge-based society, with strong capabilities in R&D; and
  • Lead the national drive to promote research, innovation and enterprise by encouraging new initiatives in knowledge creation in science and technology, and to catalyse new areas of long term economic growth.

This high-level council underscores the political commitment to and importance placed on the national R&D agenda.

RIEC Members

Mr Lee Hsien Loong 

Prime Minister and Chairman, RIEC

Mr Heng Swee Keat 
Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Finance, Coordinating Minister for Economic Policies, and Chairman, NRF 

Mr Teo Chee Hean 
Senior Minister, Coordinating Minister for National Security, and Special Advisor to NRF

Dr Ng Eng Hen 
Minister for Defence
Dr Vivian Balakrishnan
Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister-in-charge of the Smart Nation Initiative

Mr Gan Kim Yong 
Minister for Health
Mr S Iswaran 
Minister for Communications and Information and Minister-in-charge of Trade Relations

Mr Chan Chun Sing 
Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr Lawrence Wong 
Minister for Education and Second Minister for Finance 

Mr Desmond Lee
Minister for National Development and Minister-in-charge of Social Services Integration
Mr Ong Ye Kung 
Minister for Transport 
Ms Grace Fu
Minister for Sustainability and the Environment

Dr Tan See Leng
Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Manpower, and Second Minister for Trade and Industry

Professor Isaac Ben-Israel
Chairman, Israel National Council for Research and Development, and Chairman, Israel Space Agency

Professor Robert Brown
President, Boston University
Ms Chua Sock Koong
Group CEO, Singtel
Mr Raymond Dalio 
Founder, Bridgewater Associates

Sir Richard Friend
Cavendish Professor of Physics, University of Cambridge
Mr Hsieh Fu Hua
Chairman, National University of Singapore Board of Trustees

Mr Koh Boon Hwee
Chairman, Nanyang Technological University Board of Trustees and Chairman, Credence Partners

Mr John Rice
Chairman, GE Gas Power
Mr Michael Splinter
Chairman, NASDAQ
(Former Chairman and CEO, Applied Materials)

Sir Richard Sykes
Chairman, Royal Institution of Great Britain
Mr Tan Min-Liang
Co-founder, CEO, and Creative Director, Razer Inc

Sir Andrew Witty
CEO, Optum
Dr Li Ge
Founder and CEO, Wuxi Apptech
Dr Roland Busch
Deputy CEO and CTO, Siemens AG


#12-02, CREATE Tower

Singapore 138602

Tel: 6684 2900 Fax: 6684 0384