GYSS 2015 Speakers

Arieh Warshel
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2013) 

His research on using computing technology to examine proteins is akin to "seeing a watch, wondering what was going on inside, and finding out." Read.


Michael Levitt
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2013) 

Prof Levitt, Prof Warshel and Prof Martin Karplus, co-awardees for the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, jointly developed computational methods that carried out a two-pronged attack of molecular dynamics simulation and modelling. Read.

Read profiles of GYSS 2015 speakers. 

Singapore Challenge 2015

Singapore Challenge 2015 partners the Ministry of Health to invite proposals addressing the topic of Ageing-in-Place. How do we put in place new solutions to support a growing number of seniors to age in place? How do we allow seniors to enjoy a good quality of life and to remain engaged members of their communities?


Her proposal is to use a robotic system that can both assess and train upper body motor function in elderly individuals. Read.  


He hopes to develop EnableT, a low-cost and easy-to-use tablet that incorporates social networking, multimedia entertainment and local activities to give the elderly an avenue to remain connected to the people around them. Read. 


9 Dec 2014
In conjunction with GYSS, the National University of Singapore is hosting an open dialogue session with two Nobel laureates, Prof Ada Yonath and Sir Timothy Hunt.

    GYSS 2015 Dialogue with Nobel Laureates at NUS email flyer

Registration for the public lecture with Prof Ada Yonath and Sir Timothy Hunt is now open. More details.

12 Oct 2014
The submission deadline for Singapore Challenge is extended to Thu, 31 Oct 2014.
Find out how you can participate here.

Public Lectures

 Dialogue with two Nobel Laureates

 Panellists: Prof Ada Yonath,
                  Sir Timothy Hunt

 Date: Monday, 19 January 2015

 Time: 6.30pm - 8.00pm 

 Venue: National University of Singapore

 More details. 
 What Science Needs...

 Panellists: Prof Harald zur Hausen,
                  Prof Michael Levitt, 
                  Prof Ngô Bảo Châu 

 Date: Tuesday, 20 January 2015

 Time: 2.00pm - 5.00pm

 Venue: Science Centre

 More details coming soon.   
 Inspiration & Perspiration: A Scientific  Adventure in Four Acts

 Panellists: Prof Michael Levitt,
                  Prof Stuart Parkin, 
                  Sir Timothy Hunt,
                  Prof Kurt 

 Date: Thursday, 22 January 2015

 Time: 7.00pm - 8.30pm

 Venue: National Library

 More details. 






Supporting agency

 In celebration of